Ospreys win with a game to spare

The Ospreys celebrate their first Celtic League title

The League loses a team with the demise of Welsh Region the Celtic Warriors. To correct the imbalance the remaining eleven teams will each have two weeks off during the league season beginning on 3 September 2004.

The Ospreys win the league title on 26 March 2005 when they beat Edinburgh 29-12 at the Gnoll with a match to spare.

The top eight sides in the league table at the end of the campaign qualify to play in the quarter-finals of the now end of season Celtic Cup, which is eventually won by Munster with a 27-16 victory over Llanelli Scarlets at Lansdowne Road on 14 May 2005.

2004-2005 Final Table

Cardiff BluesBlues2063
Leinster RugbyLeinster2061
Llanelli ScarletsScarlets2057
Ulster RugbyUlster2055
Munster RugbyMunster2054
Glasgow WarriorsGlasgow2049
Edinburgh RugbyEdinburgh2042
Newport Gwent DragonsDragons2039
Connacht RugbyConnacht2026
Border ReiversReivers2012
How the Title was Won....
2004-2005 Top Try Scorers
Kevin Morgan12
Tommy Bowe8
Christian Cullen8
2004-2005 Top Points scorers
Gavin Henson175
David Holwell158
Charlie Hore153
© 2024 Guinness PRO12 Legal notice delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM