The Ospreys are FOUR-some!

No ALT tag specified

Change was afoot from the outset of the competition's 11th season with a new title sponsor in the shape of RaboDirect, a new competition name, and a plethora of young stars from all 12 teams emerging throughout the season.

After a season of upheaval at the Ospreys, new coach Steve Tandy sparked a wave of momentum that the Swansea-based region rode all the way to the final, losing only 2 games from their last 8.

A destruction of Munster followed in the Play-Offs and only Leinster stood between them and victory. The Irish had eliminated Glasgow Warriors before winning the European Cup and came close to securing the double, losing by a single point in the inaugural RaboDirect PRO12 Final.

Ospreys won the competition for the 4th time, winnng 31-30, thanks to a late Shane Williams try, converted by a rejuvenated Dan Biggar.

2011-2012 Regular Season Table

Leinster RugbyLeinster2281
Munster RugbyMunster2267
Glasgow WarriorsGlasgow2265
Ulster RugbyUlster2256
Cardiff BluesBlues2250
Connacht RugbyConnacht2237
Newport Gwent DragonsDragons2236
Benetton TrevisoTreviso2236
Edinburgh RugbyEdinburgh2232
Aironi RugbyAironi2222
How the Title Was Won...
2011-2012 Top Try Scorers
Tim Visser13
Alex Cuthbert10
Simon Zebo8
2011-2012 Top Points Scorers
Dan Biggar257
Duncan Weir198
Ian Keatley187
© 2024 Guinness PRO12 Legal notice delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM