Ulster pip Llanelli Scarlets to the title

Ulster celebrate Celtic League victory in 2005

Because of the unevenness of an 11 team league, Celtic Rugby introduce a scoring system whereby free weekends are acknowledged with a four point "win". The league season begins on 2 September 2005.

The league attendance record is smashed on five occasions throughout the season.

Ulster win the league title with a 19-17 victory against the Ospreys at Liberty Stadium on 26 May 2006 in the final weekend of the season, pipping Llanelli Scarlets by a single point.

2005-2006 Final Table

Ulster RugbyUlster2275
Leinster RugbyLeinster2274
Munster RugbyMunster2266
Cardiff BluesBlues2263
Edinburgh GunnersGunners2260
Llanelli ScarletsScarlets2257
Newport Gwent DragonsDragons2245
Border ReiversReivers2244
Connacht RugbyConnacht2237
Glasgow WarriorsGlasgow2237
How the Title was Won....
2005-2006 Top Try Scorers
Tommy Bowe10
Jason Forster10
Felipe Contepomi9
2005-2006 Top Points scorers
Felipe Contepomi287
David Humphreys229
Nicky Robinson173
© 2024 Guinness PRO12 Legal notice delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM