Leinster Finally Break their Jinx!

No ALT tag specified

The 12th season kicked off with a new Italian side - Zebre replaced Aironi as RaboDirect continued their sponsorship of the PRO12.

Teams across the tournament were playing exciting, expansive rugby as the number of tries rose 12% from season 2011/12.

Leinster were saying goodbye to several stars, including Joe Schmidt, Isa Nacewa and Jonathan Sexton as they rose to the top of the table after 22 rounds.

After eliminating the Ospreys from play-off contention, the RDS played host to Glasgow Warriors who took Leinster close, but couldn't overhaul the Irish province.

The PRO12 title was part of a historic treble, with Schmidt signing off from Leinster with the Challenge Cup, the British & Irish Cup and the PRO12 trophy, thanks to a fantastic Shane Jennings performance as Ulster were beaten 18-24.

2012-2013 Regular Season Table

Ulster RugbyUlster2281
Leinster RugbyLeinster2278
Glasgow WarriorsGlasgow2276
Munster RugbyMunster2254
Benetton TrevisoTreviso2250
Connacht RugbyConnacht2238
Cardiff BluesBlues2238
Edinburgh RugbyEdinburgh2236
Newport Gwent DragonsDragons2228
How the Title Was Won...
2012-2013 Top Try Scorers
Tim Visser11
Andrew Trimble10
DTH van der Merwe10
George North9
Robert Barbieri8
Andy Fenby8
Nikola Matawalu8
Tommy Seymour7
Robbie Diack6
Dan Evans6
2012-2013 Top Points Scorers
Ian Madigan186
Ruan Pienaar172
Tom Prydie170
Dan Biggar168
Ian Keatley142
Dan Parks140
Johnny Sexton140
Greig Laidlaw138
Alberto di Bernardo114
Owen Williams113
© 2024 Guinness PRO12 Legal notice delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM