Munster take second title

2008-2009 Champions

Having been at or near the top of the RaboDirect PRO12 table all season Munster overtook their nearest rivals Ospreys in early January and led from the front to claim their second Celtic title with games still in hand.

Playing in front of capacity crowds all year, the champions won 14 of their 18 matches during their campaign and were presented with the trophy at the newly refurbished Thomond Park Stadium in the final game against Ospreys on 15 May.

Runners-up Edinburgh's second place finish was the highest ever achieved by a Scottish team.

2008-2009 Final Table

Munster RugbyMunster1863
Edinburgh RugbyEdinburgh1855
Leinster RugbyLeinster1852
Cardiff BluesBlues1838
Glasgow WarriorsGlasgow1837
Ulster RugbyUlster1836
Newport Gwent DragonsDragons1833
Connacht RugbyConnacht1820
How the Title was Won....
2008-2009 Top Try Scorers
Thom Evans9
Fionn Carr8
Keith Earls8
2008-2009 Top Points Scorers
Felipe Contepomi161
James Hook161
Chris Paterson159
© 2024 Guinness PRO12 Legal notice delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM