Ospreys win race for RaboDirect PRO12 crown

2006-2007 Champions

On 19 July 2006 Magners Irish Cider are unveiled as the first ever tournament sponsors. The new RaboDirect PRO12 begins on 1 September, the table decided without the additional points for the free weekend.

The league attendance record is raised twice more, culminating in a 48,000 sell-out for the "Last Stand" final game at the old Lansdowne Road on New Year's Eve 2006 where Leinster beat Ulster 20-12.

The Ospreys take their second league title and the inaugural Magners one on 12 May 2007 on the final day of the season courtesy of a 24-16 win over Border Reivers at Netherdale after both Leinster and Cardiff Blues had come up just short with their challenge.

2006-2007 Final Table

Cardiff BluesBlues2063
Leinster RugbyLeinster2061
Llanelli ScarletsScarlets2057
Ulster RugbyUlster2055
Munster RugbyMunster2054
Glasgow WarriorsGlasgow2049
Edinburgh RugbyEdinburgh2042
Newport Gwent DragonsDragons2039
Connacht RugbyConnacht2026
Border ReiversReivers2012
How the Title was Won....
2006-2007 Top Try Scorers
Darren Daniel7
Barry Davies7
Jamie Heaslip7
2006-2007 Top Points scorers
Dan Parks197
Felipe Contepomi187
Ben Blair160
© 2024 Guinness PRO12 Legal notice delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM